YorkChair-2010cropElizabeth Crowe, Chair, York CDSB

From the York CDSB: At last nights Inaugural Board Meeting, trustees of the York Catholic District School Board acclaimed Aurora/King/Whitchurch-Stouffville Trustee, Elizabeth Crowe as Chair of the Board, and also acclaimed (Vaughan Area 1, Ward 1) Trustee, Teresa Ciaravella, for the position as Vice-Chair of the Board for 2011.

Crowe has been a YCDSB trustee since 1994, and Chair of the Board since 1999. In her acceptance remarks, Chair Elizabeth Crowe thanked her fellow trustees for their confidence and support. She noted that the Board has worked collaboratively with Senior Administration over the past four years to overcome challenges such as unbalanced enrolments, and strained budgets.

Chair Crowe also noted that she is pleased to see “the coming of age of our Catholic School Councils and our Student Governments – and the strengthening of the triad of home-Church-and school.” Chair Crowe remarked to fellow trustees that “it is up to us to keep those bonds strong by encouraging dialogue among our partners.”

Chair Crowe also noted that there will be new challenges in the future, with a provincial election on the horizon and rumours about a wage freeze. She added, “but I know that we will all work together to ensure that our students will continue to learn in safe, nurturing, creative, faith-filled environments.”

Vice-Chair Ciaravella was first elected a YCDSB trustee in 2003 and this is her first term as Vice-Chair. In her acceptance remarks, Vice-Chair Ciaravella thanked her fellow trustees for their support and noted that, “together, we will work with parents, students and parishes to strengthen their involvement in our school communities.”