Called to Serve

Ontario's Catholic Trustees

This academic year, one of our faith goals is to share our Call to Serve as trustees in Catholic education. Trustees have such a distinct and critical role in the education sector, that it is important to celebrate and proclaim our vocation and why we chose to answer the call.

Video is an ideal medium for sharing the stories we have to tell about what it means to answer the calling to serve as a Catholic school trustee.

On this page you will see videos from trustees at Catholic school boards across the province explaining the inspiration for their calling and the distinctive role they are fulfilling in service to students, their community and the Church.

Our Mission: Inspired by the Gospel, the Ontario Catholic School Trustees’ Association provides the provincial voice, leadership and service for elected Catholic school trustees to promote and protect publicly funded Catholic education in Ontario.


Mary Helen Van Loon, Vice Chair of the Huron-Perth Catholic District School Board.

Huron-Perth CDSB Strategic Plan



Michael Bellmore, Chair of the Sudbury CDSB and Vice-Chair of OCSTA.

Sudbury CDSB Strategic Plan



Sharon Hobin, Chair of the Dufferin-Peel CDSB and Board Member of OCSTA.

Dufferin-Peel CDSB Strategic Plan


Bob Schreader, Chair of the Renfrew County Catholic District School Board.

Renfrew County Catholic District School Board Strategic Plan


Bill Conway, Chair of the Waterloo CDSB.

Waterloo CDSB Strategic Plan


Lori Di Castri, Chair of the Bruce-Grey CDSB.

Bruce-Grey CDSB Strategic Plan


Francis Veneruz, Chair of the Thunder Bay CDSB.

Thunder Bay CDSB Strategic Plan


Terry Shea, Chair of the Algonquin & Lakeshore CDSB 

Algonquin & Lakeshore CDSB Strategic Plan