90 Years

of Advocacy & Service

Welcome to OCSTA’s 90th Anniversary page 

90 years ago in the spring of 1930, a group of Catholic trustees representing regions from across the province, gathered in Toronto, at the Royal York Hotel to arrive at a solution for strengthening the voice and position of Catholic Trustees in their efforts to advocate for fair and equitable funding for Ontario’s growing Catholic school system.

They ultimately succeeded in establishing the Ontario Separate School Trustees’ Association. Through the efforts of those Catholic trustees and clergy who led OSSTA (now OCSTA) and Catholic school boards province-wide, Ontario’s Catholic school system grew to become what it is today –  an internationally acclaimed, faith-filled school system considered to be one of the largest  publicly funded Catholic school systems in the world. Each year Ontario’s Catholic schools welcome, educate and nuture more than 550,000 students.

Our Mission: Inspired by the Gospel, the Ontario Catholic School Trustees’ Association provides the provincial voice, leadership and service for elected Catholic school trustees to promote and protect publicly funded Catholic education in Ontario.


The Region of Halton’s First Catholic School Board – 1948.

Significant Events in the History of Catholic Education in Ontario 

The Facts About Education in Ontario

Snapshots Through the Years

Catholic Trustee Voices Today


Board Chair and Indigenous Representative Judy Wawia is with the Superior North Catholic DSB in Terrace Bay.

Board Chair and OCSTA Past President, Marino Gazzola is with the Wellington Catholic DSB in Guelph.

Trustee Shirley Jean is with the Superior North CDSB in Terrace Bay.

Trustee Leslie Cassidy-Amadio is with the Huron-Superior Catholic DSB in Sault Ste. Marie.

Trustee Andrew Finoro is with the Wellington Catholic DSB in Guelph.

Vice-Chair David Bernier is with the PVNC Catholic DSB in Peterborough.

Chair Janice Oldman is with the Durham Catholic DSB in Oshawa.

Trustee John Curry is with the Ottawa Catholic School Board.

Chair John Van Heck is with the St. Clair Catholic DSB in Wallaceburg.

Trustee Lawrence McParland is with the Superior North Catholic DSB in Terrace Bay.

Vice Chair Sandra Moore is with the Ottawa Catholic School Board.

Trustee Joe Tersigni is with the Wellington Catholic DSB in Guelph.

Vice Chair Kathy Bryck is with The Northwest Catholic District School Board.

The Sudbury Catholic DSB.


Acknowledging OCSTA’s 90th Anniversary: Algonquin & Lakeshore Catholic District School Board Indigenous Education Initiative with Board Chair Terry Shea and Aboriginal Education Liaison Shawn MacDonald